A Dry Port is an inland intermodal terminal directly connected by road or rail to a seaport and operating as a centre for the transshipment of sea cargo to inland destinations.In addition to their role in cargo transshipment, dry ports may also include facilities for storage and consolidation of goods, maintenance for road or rail cargo carriers and customs clearance services. The location of these facilities at a dry port relieves competition for storage and customs space at the seaport itself.

At present, there are six Dry ports running under the management of Pakistan Railways.

Lahore Dry Port : Established in 1973
Karachi Dry Port : Established in 1974
Quetta Dry Port : Established in 1984
Peshawar Dry Port : Established in 1986
Multan Dry Port : Established in 1988
Rawalpindi Dry Port : Established in 1990


In addition to the above, there are four Dry Ports established and running under the management of private sector:

Sialkot Dry Port Established in 1986
Faisalabad Dry Port
NLC Dry Port at Thokar Niaz Beg Lahore
NLC Dry Port at Quetta



© 2011-2023, www.shipmagz.com All rights reserved.